To G (3 April 2012)

why do I love you

i love you 4 ur kindness & ur depth

the ocean-pool of your eyes

as they bore through me demanding truth

i love the way you invoke freedom

intrepid, silent

do I love you more for your integrity and independence

than for the warmth of your hand against my back

– for that I have no answer.

I love all that makes you You

the boy and the man

your arms that crushes me and your eyes that bring me pain.

All the broken parts of you are parts of me as well.

Do you remember when I was young,

confused, and drunk at 2 am?

I wasn’t sure if I wanted You

Or the attention. But then you said,

“One wouldn’t exist without the other.”

Leave a Reply

