Sex and Dying

romeo and juliet

Romeo and Juliet — 2 adolescents who had the sense to have sex before dying. Image courtesy of Wikipedia.

I have recently come across a delightful young man named, shall we say, GM.

When his story started, GM was not yet 30, and he was afraid of dying before reaching the dreaded 3-0. A fear, one must admit,  that a number of women, young and old, also possess.

GM is a scientist, or at least his field of work involves hard applied science.

A minor comment: While medicine is applied science, it is not hard enough, in my opinion, to give it the moniker “hard science”. B, also a soft-scientist and totally not involved in this story, would say, “That’s why I don’t date medicine-men, they are just too soft!”

At a tender age, GM fell really hard. And got his heart broken in the process.

We should feel sorry for GM because he lost his dad at a young age and he had to support his mom and family.

At this point, my friend, A would say, “Boo, hoo, tough luck! I also had to do that. He doesn’t have the corner on suffering in the world you know! (with much appreciation for Joanne Greenberg’s ‘I Never Promised  You a Rose Garden’ from where that quote was lifted and paraphrased).”

I conversed with GM one day and he told me that it is his dream to “Marry a woman who reads. And writes. And travels. And beautiful. And has a good heart.”

I said, “Okaay. Great. That’s a great goal.”

And then he said, “But I’m afraid of dying before I’m 30.”

Me: “So how old are you now?”

GM: “Mid-late 20s.”

Me: “A lot of people say they’re going to die before they get to 30. When I was 17, I said I was probably going to die before I’m 25.”

GM: “You didn’t die?”

Me: “I’m talking to you now, right? The thing is, you’ll never have that perfect woman/man, or even the perfect sex, if you don’t go out there and put yourself out and get naked and vulnerable.”

GM: “I already did that. See all these scratch marks?”

Me: “Well you have to go out there again. The difference with sex and love is that with sex, you only die during orgasm. With love, you die every single day.”

Leave a Reply

