Nothing Personal

Before I hit the treadmill, I find me asking myself:

Why are you being such a bitch towards Jeane, Janet and company? They haven’t done anything to you. They should be left alone until proven guilty – er innocent. Haven’t you watched that Rudy Fernandez movie, “Markang Bungo”,  where he said, “Walang personalan, trabaho lang” (Don’t take this personally, it’s just my job) ?

What is wrong with you ?

 

Hmmm, what indeed?

TJ Guingona, a Philippine senator (whose father was cuter than him) was proposing this new bill.

And I thought, wow, that’s nice. Participative democracy, with the help of the Internet!

And I saw this Inquirer column by Mahar Mangahas, yet another nerdy guy with a love for statistics.

Inclusivity = participative democracy = less corruption (?)

Then I remembered Heidi Mendoza. Her hairdo reminds me of my aunt whom I am extremely fond of.

Ms. Mendoza’s story made me react: “when girls kick-ass, they do kick asses!”. Picture from http://www.pinoygigs.com

Heidi once told this story:

When she was in COA (Commission on Audit, Philippines),  working on a huge graft and corruption case against a big-time Filipino general, she had to work late hours. That night, after wrapping up her work, she rushed home, hoping not to miss an important family event. Her old car broke  down in the middle of the road. Heidi was frustrated that she almost cried. She was remembering that the general they were investigating owned 20 luxury cars (Or was it 10? Do the numbers matter?) while she was stuck with her old vehicle stranded in the middle of the road wanting so much to be with her family.

That’s when she thought that corruption was something personal.

Of course i would agree with Ms. Heidy. Aside from the fact that she bears resemblance to my aunt, she tells a great story really well !

***

But the line dividing good and evil cuts through the heart of every human being. And who is willing to destroy a piece of his own heart?

— Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn, The Gulag Archipelago 1918-1956

 

 

 

 

One Comment

Leave a Reply

