Playing Soothsayer or An Exercise on Making Predictions

fortune teller

Someone in career crossroad should consider all avenues of income generation.

I don’t know what the ranking of “fortune teller” is in today’s job markets; but since I’ve always wanted to don a gypsy costume and bring a crystal ball to work, then it is a consideration.

***

I predict …

… That within  the next 10 years (give or take 2 or 3 years) China will fall the way the KGB, Gorbachev and the USSR have fallen.

… It will be, in no small part, due to a tiny, inconsequential, perpetually enslaved, pseudo-schizophrenic country located  somewhere east of the South China Sea — which incidentally, Filipinos have renamed West Philippine Sea, a better sounding name, in my opinion.

***

This prediction is the result of my current affair with Mr. Natan Sharansky’s book, “The Case for Democracy: The Power of Freedom to Overcome Tyranny and Terror” which I bought at a bargain price last week in Booksale.
case for democracy

Mr. Sharansky can be, and had been, labeled as someone belonging to the George Dubya Bush School of Foreign Policy. Not surprising! He once met with Dubya and there was a period when everyone at the White House danced “the Sharansky”.

In general, I much prefer the Democrats over Republicans. If given a choice, I would prefer sleeping with Barack than with George. No offense to Michelle and Laura.

However, Natan does have a point. Lots of it, in fact:

***

Unelected governments (UG) stay in power because they impose fear on their people. The illusion of having external threats will be fanned by UGs so that their citizens will have something else to stress-on about, and hence, they won’t dwell on the depressing reality that they are being used as glorified assembly-lines by their political leaders.

However, nobody wants to be a part of an assembly line forever.

Nobody wants to be silenced and just be told on what to do the rest of his/her life.

And I’m sorry Dr. Paul Farmer, I know you admire the health statistics of Cuba, but believe me, someday Castro (Raul or Fidel — same banana) will die (he’s human too, you know) and then the soup will hit the fan.

Dictators have never been known to hold on to their power forever.

***

So today I saw this in the news

PH matches China’s 7.5% growth in Q2

I know that with this Napoles affair and corruption brouhaha, the PH will still have a hell of a hurdle to go through before it can tell Beijing to go to hell for being such a bully.

But then, in China censorship over the Internet is actually being practiced. A sacrilege, in my opinion.

That’s why I think I was born in a better country. A sad one. But better.

Leave a Reply

