Guns and Corned Beef

I hate guns but I love corned beef!

Not my favorite brand of canned corned beef, but it will do. I actually  forgot the name-brand of my favorite brand! Does that mean it's not really my favorite at all?

Not my favorite brand of canned corned beef, but it will do. I actually forgot the name-brand of my favorite brand! Does that mean it’s not really my favorite at all?

I came across this recipe for home made corned beef that I would like to try to make, one of these days.

The problem is, I have yet to find juniper berries and allspice in local markets; and these are ingredients to the recipe.

My favorite food blogger featured this corned beef recipe on his blog and my mouth literally watered.

I am copy/pasting the corned beef recipe by Alton Brown here  (just so I will remember):

Ingredients :
2 quarts water
1 cup kosher salt
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 tablespoons saltpeter
1 cinnamon stick, broken into several pieces
1 teaspoon mustard seeds
1 teaspoon black peppercorns
8 whole cloves
8 whole allspice berries
12 whole juniper berries
2 bay leaves, crumbled
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
2 pounds ice
1 (4 to 5 pound) beef brisket, trimmed
1 small onion, quartered
1 large carrot, coarsely chopped
1 stalk celery, coarsely chopped
Directions: Place the water into a large 6 to 8 quart stockpot along with salt, sugar, saltpeter, cinnamon stick, mustard seeds, peppercorns, cloves, allspice, juniper berries, bay leaves and ginger. Cook over high heat until the salt and sugar have dissolved. Remove from the heat and add the ice. Stir until the ice has melted. If necessary, place the brine into the refrigerator until it reaches a temperature of 45 degrees F. Once it has cooled, place the brisket in a 2-gallon zip top bag and add the brine. Seal and lay flat inside a container, cover and place in the refrigerator for 10 days. Check daily to make sure the beef is completely submerged and stir the brine. After 10 days, remove from the brine and rinse well under cool water. Place the brisket into a pot just large enough to hold the meat, add the onion, carrot and celery and cover with water by 1-inch. Set over high heat and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to low, cover and gently simmer for 2 1/2 to 3 hours or until the meat is fork tender. Remove from the pot and thinly slice across the grain.

You may notice that the recipe calls for saltpeter, which is also an ingredient in making gunpowder. I think I read that in the book “Like Water for Chocolate”.
like water for chocolate
I have a moral aversion to anything related to guns. Hence, I have resolved not to use saltpeter in this recipe.
Call me a pacifist (some people regard that as a dirty word along with “feminist”) but I have a thing against guns.
My opinion is that, this world is fucked up because of men with guns and men who want to have guns. Yes, despite Madeleine Albright, Margaret Thatcher and Hilary Clinton, it’s still usually men.
Sorry my darling! I know you think the way to Syria’s liberation is by supplying their guy rebels with air-to-ground missiles, and I don’t blame you. The Assad regime is a psychopathic sadistic bastard, if I ever saw one. Thank god, Ferdinand Marcos is dead; for I think he would now be dancing the cha cha with Bashar al-Assad were he still with us.
And yes, I don’t know anything about waging wars, psychological or otherwise. I’m a dimwitted girl who only knows how to pray the devil back to hell.
I would just like to ask, darling, if I may, have you actually inquired what these Syrian girls — er women — think about what would be the best way to deal with their guys who are hell-bent on killing each other? Oh, yes, silly me, you can’t hold a referendum, even an interview because the situation on the ground is hot. Oh well …
Syrian girl with bloody face (obviously) Picture from www.ottawacitizen.comic

Syrian girl with bloody face (obviously) Picture from http://www.ottawacitizen.comic

Syrian women (girls?) on a wall. Crying? Laughing like banshees after being sexually abused? I wouldn't know. The abaya keeps me from seeing their expressions. Picture from respecthumanrights.com

Syrian women (girls?) on a wall. Crying? Laughing like banshees after being sexually abused? I wouldn’t know. The abaya keeps me from seeing their expressions. Picture from respecthumanrights.com

Yes, this post is about a recipe, sorry for the digression. My housemate just said that I’m always saying sorry, for which I retort, “Which is why you love me.”
Leave a Reply

