The Pursuit of Happyness

The impression I got was, for someone wearing a Kevlar vest, Benhur really looked radiant! He was all smiles most of the time during the Senate inquiry!

Benhur with BFF, Leila de Lima. Photo from www.gmanetwork.com

Benhur with BFF, Leila de Lima. Photo from http://www.gmanetwork.com

So that’s what happens when someone tells the truth!

See Jeane, darling, you don’t need to go through those facials and diamond peels just to have great skin! Prettyfying yourself can be inexpensive! Lots of water, fresh vegetables and plenty of peaceful (non-guilty) sleep will do the trick.  Tell that to your mom, okay, baby ger?

When ordinary people, like Benhur Luy, develop the balls to take on corrupt politicians, I feel almost hopeful for myself.  I know, my crazy country has still a long way to go … but maybe (or so I wish) this is a start.

***

Everybody must know the movie starring Will Smith and son, Jaden. It’s about a salesman who lost his job and his house and had to be homeless while raising his kid. Being a Hollywood movie, the good hero triumphed, and became a rich stockbroker.

Poster-pursuithappyness

I wish the world is a Hollywood movie. If it were, maybe something like this will have a happy ending. Although, for the life of me, I have no idea how it will happen.

We are supposed to be living in the modern world; but in some parts of it, child-brides are still the nome. Some of them die before their time because of childbirth or in some cases, internal bleeding after intercourse during their wedding night. From http://www.examiner.com/article/yemen-8-year-old-girl-dies-from-internal-injuries-on-wedding-night

We are supposed to be living in the modern world; but in some parts of it, child-brides are still the norm. A lot of them die young because of childbirth or, in some cases, internal bleeding after intercourse during their wedding night. From http://www.examiner.com/article/yemen-8-year-old-girl-dies-from-internal-injuries-on-wedding-night

On the other hand, male rape is also possible:

http://rollingout.com/shame-on-you/african-businessman-dies-after-being-raped-by-his-5-wives/#.Ui_9YHJUW3R.facebook

***

Another reason why the pessimist in me should shut up once in while: the Catholic Pope Francis said that even non-believers can be saved! Hallelujah!

What can I say ... I love him! Photo from rappler.com

As far as I can tell, he has been the most “accessible” pope so far! I think my sister writes him letters … I wonder if he will write back, like what he did with this student. Photo from rappler.com

Leave a Reply

