The Starfish Story

Alice: All right, explain it to me again, why do you have to do this?

Jonas: They need help with logistics.

Alice: And that would have to be provided by you? You are not exactly the secretary type, you know.

Jonas: The offer is great. Fresh air, mountain trekking, very nice people. And there’s a beach!

Alice: No electricity, no water, no reliable transportation. And I wouldn’t be there.

Jonas: You can come with me. We can travel together.

Alice: Yeah right! And do what? Carry your camera?

Jonas: Well  … you can provide the entertainment (lecherous smile).

Alice: Jonas, why do you have to do this?

Jonas: If I tell you the starfish story again, you will start rolling your eyes at me. I have to do this Alice because this is what I am.

Image from Wikipedia.  The starfish story came from an inspirational book and it goes like this: Once there was a young man (or woman) walking along a beach who saw a fisherman throwing a starfish back into the ocean. The young person  asked the fisherman why he bothers throwing the starfish back when there are so many starfishes along the beach that can never be saved. What difference can this futile action of the fisherman do? The fisherman didn't reply and threw another starfish back into the sea. Then he said,  "Well, sir I made a difference on that one."

Image from Wikipedia. The starfish story came from an inspirational book and it goes like this: Once there was a young man (or woman) walking along a beach who saw a fisherman throwing a starfish back into the ocean. The young person asked the fisherman why he bothers throwing the starfish back when there are so many starfishes along the beach that can never be saved. What difference can this, futile action of the fisherman, make? The fisherman didn’t reply and threw another starfish back into the sea. Then he said, “Well, sir, I made a difference on that one.”

Alice: Why you?

Jonas: Why not?

Alice: Sometimes, I feel like a spoiled little bitch girl when I think that  my … you know …

Jonas: Boyfriend?

Alice: … something like that. When I think that you go off to do these Indiana Jones stuff while I enjoy my bourgeois ass in the city.

Jonas: I happen to love that bourgeois ass.

Alice: Thank you.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

