Scarlet Letters

So today, they talk about the Big A.

In relation to the

Responsible Parenthood and Reproductive Health Act of 2012

“… which  is still in the Supreme Court, being debated upon by pedants and misogynists,”  Alice.

Jonas: Are you going to lift a quote from that Germaine Greer book you are reading again?

Alice: She happens to be very erudite and insightful. As far as I’m concerned, she should be the Dalai Lama.

Jonas: I am not even going to comment on that.

Alice: Of course you won’t! You don’t even believe in a woman’s right to choose!

Jonas: I believe that every life is sacred.

Alice: If I get pregnant, and I don’t want to have the baby, what will you do?

Jonas: Considering how OC* you are when it comes to contraception, I very much doubt that.

Alice: You did not answer the question!

Jonas: Alice … if there has been an infinitesimal chance that you had gotten pregnant  despite the considerable precautions we had taken …  I will consider that zygote or blastomere or whatever,  a part of you. I will love it or him or her without even having seen it yet. If you decide that you are not ready to have it/him/her — I will be immensely hurt, as I am sure you will also be. But I will try to understand … I will try …

Alice: (silent, open-mouthed, dumbstruck) You made a speech. You never do that.

Jonas: Well that got you to shut up. So it wasn’t a wasted effort.

_________________________________________________________________

* OC – obsessive-compulsive

This is the zygote ... and it exists because the sperm found its way to the ovum and did all sorts of stuff before their DNA mingled. No dear readers, Alice is NOT pregnant. Image from Wikipedia

This is the zygote (please note that it begins with the letter Z). And it exists because the sperm found its way to the ovum; and did all sorts of stuff before their DNA mingled. No dear readers, Alice is NOT pregnant.
Image from Wikipedia

Leave a Reply

