… and this too shall pass

Two important things happened last October.

First, was my mother’s 8th  death anniversary on October 3. And second, on October 27, I commemorated the 1st time G and I went on a date.

In this picture: The Malate Chiurch, also known as Our Lady of Remedies Parish Church. First date with G--  went to the 6 pm mass then ate at a nearby restaurant. Contact lenses got dislocated so his face looked blurred  for the most part of this date.  Memories! (Image from Wikipedia)

In this picture: The Malate Church, also known as Our Lady of Remedies Parish Church. First date with G– went to the 6 pm mass then ate at a nearby restaurant. Contact lenses got dislocated so his face looked blurred for the most part of this date. Memories! 🙂                                                                                    (Image from Wikipedia)

That is my life, it seems, the morbid and the glorious juxtaposed with each other.

My complaint to god (if there is one):  How come the morbid parts happen more often than I want? And the glorious portions end too quickly?

I can hear god’s answer: ho ho, that’s my joke for you, my dear.

Needless to say, I am not often fond of god’s sense of humor.

***

Last September, a writer named Charlotte Kitley died. I do not know her but her words moved me.

So here they are —

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/charlotte-kitley/bowel-cancer-charlotte-kitley_b_5836238.html

So I guess,  what one learns from all this is that no matter how brief and inconsequential our “stuff” may be, in the end our words remain.

And if those words manage to touch some other sentient being, then all our “stuff”, however petty, small or ordinary,  can be elevated to some degree of greatness.

***

But then again, on a morbid note, pride is one of the seven deadly sins. And the devil’s favorite, if Al Pacino (in “Devil’s Advocate”) will be believed.

Leave a Reply

