Terminator: Genisys

Michael Biehn as Kyle Reese. The Terminator (1984). Image from wikipedia.

Michael Biehn as Kyle Reese. The Terminator (1984). Image from wikipedia.

 

So let it be known that my first-big-crush-of-all-time was Kyle Reese, as played by Michael Biehn in Terminator 1984 edition.

I was maybe 11 years old, and I had to sneak out to watch the movie on TV (on a local channel as we didn’t have cable yet) because I was only allowed to stay up til 8 pm on school days.

I remember thinking that when I have a kid, I would  definitely name him “Kyle” or “Reese”.

I remember wishing back in the 1990’s that something like a portable video player be invented one day so I can watch The Terminator over and over even if I am traveling. (That wish came true.)

I remember my delusion that maybe Kyle Reese was my soulmate. (Not true.)

I remember arguing with my elementary school friend Bernadeth (whose great big crush was John Connor as played by Edward Furlong) about who was the better guy, Kyle or John. Between Bernadeth and me, we must have created a hundred fan-fictions featuring these two movie characters.

I hated “Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines” (mainly because I found Claire Danes strident, shrill and annoying) and detested “Terminator: Salvation” (stilted acting from Christian Bale and Sam Worthington). But I would have to disagree with 90% of the critics who had nothing good to say about the new installation to the Terminator franchise because I loved it.

It was like having a fan-fiction  come to life.

I would have to agree that Jai Courtney doesn’t have the intensity and world-weariness that Michael Biehn injected into the role; but he does have the necessary cuteness for it and I felt that he and  Emilia Clarke had some chemistry.

The scenes with Arnold were fun and it was amusing to watch him reprise the role.

The new plot twist is a headache, that I would have to agree. And the story is obviously unfinished and it is also obvious that they are just itching to do a sequel to answer the questions at the movie’s end. The problem is, it’s also clear that the T5 flopped at the box office so where does that leave us  now?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

